RLSS Water Safety Management Programme

The National Water Safety Management Programme (NWSMP) is an occupational management training solution suitable for employers requiring their workforce to operate safely in or near water.

The National Water Safety Programme (NWSMP) aims to be a leading suite of awards designed to equip anyone working in, on or near water with essential knowledge and skills to make informed decisions about managing water safety. The awards are suitable for employers in a wide range of industries, including teaching (field trips), construction, environmental health, leisure and emergency services that require their workforce to operate safely in or near water. 

The NWSMP has been developed to meet the learning outcomes of DEFRA module 1, Water & Flood Awareness training module, and module 2, Water & Flood First Responder training module, along with the needs of educational and outdoor professionals.  

Upon passing any part of the NWSMP suite of awards, the certificate is valid for two years from the date of successful completion. 

The NWSMP awards are accredited with the Institute for Outdoor Learning 




DEFRA courses

The NWSMP modules meet the DEFRA Module 1 and 2 learning outcomes. 

  • NWSMP Level 1 Water Safety Awareness is equivalent to DEFRA Module 1 Water & Flood Awareness 
  • NWSMP Inland Waterways Module is the equivalent to DEFRA Module 2 – Water & Flood First Responder.

We can deliver the modules as DEFRA compliant, with the certificates annotated as DEFRA modules.

For more information on content, assessment criteria and pre-requisites; click here: RLSS NWSMP



Course costs

Open course prices are advertised with the course, please contact us for group price.

Course price includes a hard copy of the course manuals for all candidates. The candidates must also register with the RLSS, all certificates are obtained via the RLSS membership system.

Throwline practice
Wading river in wedge formation